Skip to main content

Chamber Music Society Of Lincoln Center At SPAC - Instrumental Array

Photo of Michael Brown
When: Tuesday, Aug 6, 2019 8:00 PM
Cost: $48-53

The Chamber Music Society Of Lincoln Center (CMS) returns (August 4 - 20) with a roster of internationally celebrated artists, taking audiences at the Spa Little Theater on a musical journey with six programs designed specifically for the SPAC Residency of 23 works never before been performed by CMS at SPAC.

In addition to performances by David Finckel and Wu Han, Co-Artistic Directors of CMS, in residency for all three weekends, audiences will experience the return of the Escher Quartet, plus debut appearances by four artists including Chinese violinist Angelo Xiang Yu, British flutist Adam Walker, Bulgarian violinist Bella Hristova and renowned American cellist Keith Robinson.


  • Bach:  Concerto in D minor for Keyboard, Strings, and Continuo, BWV 1052

  • Kodály: Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7

  • Spohr: Grand Nonetto in F major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass, Op. 31

Michael Brown, Piano; Bella Hristova, Violin; Angelo Xiang Yu, Violin; Kerri Ryan, Viola

Nicholas Canellakis, Cello; David Finckel, Cello; Nate West, Double Bass; Adam Walker, Flute; Stephen Taylor, Oboe; Ricardo Morales, Clarinet; Angela Anderson Smith, Bassoon; Jeffrey Lang, Horn.

Three compositions, three undeniable masterpieces. CMS celebrates the virtuosity and genius of the baroque keyboard concerto with J.S. Bach, Hungarian flair and nationalism with Zoltan Kodály’s Duo for violin and cello, and an inventive collaboration of nine winds and strings in Spohr’s Grand Nonetto, the first work ever to be written for this unusual grouping of instruments.

Back to events list

Incorrect info on this event listing or page? -- please email

Event times and information subject to change and not guaranteed.